University Press - Wednesday, March 4, 1998, Lamar University

Three Lamar University students are the recipients of undergraduate scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each from the Texas Space Grant Consortium.

Robert Pulumbarit, a senior mechanical engineering student from Beaumont, is the 1997-98 NASA/Texas Space Grant Consortium Scholar, one of 25 recipients from throughout Texas.

Patricia Irwin, a senior nursing major from Beaumont, and Tilina Lee Grimes, a senior chemistry and biology major from Port Arthur, received additional scholarships honoring them as 1998 NASA/Texas Space Grant Consortium Winter Scholars. The two are among 25 students awarded the supplemental scholarships.

The Space Grant Consortium Scholarships honor outstanding students who have demonstrated skill and excellence in undergraduate academics. They are designed to encourage recipients to seriously consider graduate study in space-related areas.

"Selection of these three students, from diverse academic disciplines, recognizes the quality of basic education at Lamar while supplementing special interests of those students - in this case the space program,"

Paul Corder, professor of mechanical engineering said "The success of these students reflects the caliber of education that Lamar University provides."

Lamar University was one of the founding members of the consortium on which Corder has represented the university since the initial meeting of the consortium in November 1988.

"The mission of the Texas Space Grant Consortium is to promote aerospace education," Corder said. "This is a university-level program used to promote these activities."

Back to the TSGC Fellows and Scholars Grants page


Saturday, 28-Aug-1999 12:55:01 CDT