TEXAS SPACE GRANT CONSORTIUM
ABOUT TSGCHIGHER EDUCATION FACULTYHIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTSK-12 EDUCATION
STANDARD TEXT ENLARGE TEXT ABOUT TEXT SETTINGS
VOYAGE to Spread Space Excitement Educator Newsletter

VOYAGE TO SPREAD SPACE EXCITEMENT

Current Issue

Past Issues

Subscription Center

 

 

 

PROGRAM CONTACTS

jurgens@tsgc.utexas.edu

 

 

VOYAGE to Spread Space Excitement Educator Newsletter

Volume VIII, Issue 5
Editor Talia Jurgens
April 21, 2008

Endeavor Science Teachers Certificate Program
http://nspires.nasaprs.com/external/index.do

NASA is pleased to announce that Discovery Communications and 3M are launching a series of Web-based seminars to encourage and support participation by teachers and students in the 2008 Discovery Education/3M Young Scientist Challenge, hosted by NASA. Any teacher or student from anywhere in the world can log onto these free webinars.

There will be two sets of webinars, one for students and one for educators. The student webinars will cover the basics of creating and uploading videos for the challenge. Students will learn how to create videos from cell phones, cameras or webcams. They will learn to edit with or without computers. Most importantly, they will learn that enthusiasm, problem-solving and communication skills are key to winning the Challenge.

The webinars focused on teachers will give an overview of the same skill sets as the student webinars, but the teachers will also be given an overview of the student competition. With this information, teachers can encourage students to enter. The teacher webinars, like the Challenge, will be exclusively for the teachers in the Discovery Educator Network. (Becoming a member is easy and registration is free. To become a member, visit http://community.discoveryeducation.com/about/become_discovery_educator.)

Webinars (Student Target Audience)

    April 21, Monday, 1 p.m. CDT (2 p.m. EDT)
    April 22, Tuesday, noon CDT (1 p.m. EDT)
    April 23, Wednesday, 2 p.m. CDT (3 p.m. EDT)

Webinars (DEN Teacher Audience)

    April 23, Wednesday, 5 p.m. CDT (6 p.m. EDT)
    April 30, Wednesday, 7 p.m. CDT (8 p.m. EDT)
    May 6, Tuesday, 5 p.m. CDT (6 EDT)


Interactive Classroom Materials for Introductory Astronomy
http://astro.unl.edu/classaction/index.html

Interactive Classroom Materials for Introductory Astronomy, University of Nebraska, find a variety of highly interactive animations dealing with astronomy. InstructorÕs manuals and PowerPoints are available.


2008 Discovery Education/3M Young Scientist Challenge
http://www.discoveryeducation.com/youngscientist

Discovery Education and 3M are proud to partner with NASA for the 2008 Young Scientist Challenge. Currently in its 10th year, the YSC encourages the exploration of science among America's youth and promotes the importance of science communication at a critical age when interest in science begins to decline.

The challenge sponsors are looking for a few great students and teachers who can inspire others with their enthusiasm for science and their ability to communicate. What does it take to be America's Top Young Scientist or America's Top Science Teacher? Students in grades 5-8 and teachers of grades K-12 are being asked to create a short (1-2 minute) video about one of this year's scientific topics, which all relate to this year's theme, "The Science of Space." Participants should enter their videos online and will become eligible to win a trip to Washington, D.C., in the fall to compete in the YSC finals at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. Videos will be accepted through June 15, 2008. Finalists will be announced this summer, and the competition finals will take place Oct. 4-7, 2008.


New NASA Science Mission Website
http://nasascience.nasa.gov.

NASA's Science Mission Directorate has launched a new Web site that provides enhanced and engaging information about NASA's vast scope of scientific endeavors and achievements. The site will provide in-depth coverage of NASA's past, present and future science missions with features that include:

  • Expanded "For Educators" and "For Kids" pages to provide access to a broader range of resources for learning the science behind NASA missions.
  • Interactive tables and searches for Earth, heliophysics, planetary and astrophysics missions.
  • Insight into dark matter and dark energy, planets around other stars, climate change, Mars and space weather.
  • Resources for researchers including links to upcoming science solicitations and opportunities.
  • A mapping of science questions for NASA science missions and the data they produce.
  • A citizen-scientist page with access to resources that equip the public to engage in scientific investigation.
  • Easy-to-navigate design and an improved search engine to help find information.

Visit the new NASA science Web site above. http://nasascience.nasa.gov


TSGC_Teachers@www.tsgc.utexas.edu
http://www.tsgc.utexas.edu/lists/teachers/